Pension rights

Working in Europe | Pension rights | Faroe Islands

When retiring from employment or being unable to work due to disability, pension is available from several sources under certain circumstances.


Residents between 18 og 67 years with Danish citizenship who have lived in the Danish Realm for at least 3 years after the age of 15 and foreign citizens who are married to a Danish citizen, are entitled to a disability pension if their work capacity is permanently reduced by at least a half.

In order to obtain a full disability pension in the Faroe Islands, the resident must have resided in the Danish Realm for at least 4/5 of the time after the age of 15. If the period of residence is shorter, the pension is calculated in proportion to the time of residence.

Nordic citizens have the right to disability pension in the Faroe Islands under the same conditions as Danish citizens.

Disability pension can only be granted if there is no suitable work available and it is not possible to improve the working capacity through work-improving measures.

Disability pension can be granted at three different levels depending on loss of capacity for work.


Read more:

Department of Social Services (in Faroese)